Skip to content

Polyphasic Rehashed. Now Triphasic.

August 19, 2014

Good morning everyone. 4 AM, time to start getting this thing documented.

Last November I gave the Uberman Cycle a crack. It was an interesting experience, but within a few weeks, I regrettably ended up supporting the claim that the “Uberman is the most commonly attempted, and most failed of polyphasic schedules” [Polyphasic Society]. (In my case, this was largely due to loneliness – not even the drunk people are awake at 4:00 AM – while the actual the mechanics of it were working out and I was becoming functional at all hours of the day).

Still, with time I’ve only gained interest in this topic (due tireless* curiosity), and with the lessons from the last jaunt through polyphasic sleeping, I feel more prepared to try again.

So, heading into my sophomore year in computer engineering, I have slightly over two weeks of empty time before school starts. Taking a gander at others’ blogged experiences, two weeks seems like enough time to get at least mostly transitioned into a new sleep schedule. This time around, though, I want something easier to transition into and more compatible with normal monophasic peoples’ social lives; so, having done some further research (e.g. blogs and pages), and conferring with my class schedule, I’m settling on a Triphasic Schedule  (1.5 hrs of sleep every 8 hrs).

My prep is pretty minimal, mostly consisting of generally eating healthy and avoiding injury.

My sleep schedule (EST):

1:00 – 2:30 AM | 8:30 – 10:00 AM | 4:30 – 6:00 PM

Right now, my plan is to use Sleep As Android to quantitatively document my sleep cycles, and to make daily posts to this blog. Should be good, I’ll keep you posted.


*Pun totally intended.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

